A Blogger Darkly

Lately I’ve been playing with the idea of porting my Blogger site over to WordPress. Blogger is a great platform, but I wanted the opportunity to have more hands-on experience with WordPress primarily because we’re using it for a couple different web projects at work. Rather than take the plunge with a hosting company and use WordPress.org, I’m taking the much easier step with the free (but limited) WordPress.com option.

I found this dark theme and quickly realized it suits my needs quite well. Although it can’t be none-more-black, it’s simple and I like the multi-column layout. Most of all, though, I love that the footer is twice the height of the main body. Footers rule.

At the moment, I’m juggling this new site as well as my old site as I figure out my next step. Moving everything over to WordPress will be painful. There are a lot of hard-coded links in my blog posts to Blogger which would stop working. Plus I’d lose all of my HaloScan comments from my old site unless I hop onto an install of WordPress.org and use this import utility.

So for now, my old site will lay dormant and I’ll start writing more here at blog.nervousmusic.net.

About this entry