My Favorite Releases of 2014

It’s been a year since I last posted here. I guess my blogging days are over for now. But I’ll continue to use this for my favorite releases list. I went a little bananas this year and, after listening to 260 new albums, I whittled the list down to 45. I figured — what the heck — 2014 was a good year for new music so let me overshare.

Alphabetically listed below, these were the albums I found myself reaching for several times this year. So much good stuff out there but this is where I landed most often. Happy Holidays!

  • Actress – Ghettoville | listen
  • Aether – Tagzig Olmo Lung Ring | listen
  • Alessandro Cortini – Sonno | listen
  • Andy Stott – Faith In Strangers | listen
  • Black Hat – Dream Interlock | listen
  • Black Rain – Dark Pool | listen
  • Black To Comm – Black To Comm | listen
  • Bruta Non Calculant – World In A Tear | listen
  • Bugskull – Collapsed View | listen
  • Bvdub – A History Of Distance | listen
  • Carl Hultgren – Tomorrow | listen
  • Cherry Wave, The – Avalancher | listen
  • Clay Rendering – Waters Above The Firmament | listen
  • Cloudface – Untitled | listen
  • DeepChord & Yagya – Will I Dream During The Process (DeepChord Redesigns) | listen
  • Demdike Stare – Empirical Research | listen
  • Eitan Reiter & Sebastian Mullaert – Reflections of Nothingness | listen
  • Further Reductions – Woodwork | listen
  • Gidge – Autumn Bells | listen
  • Grouper – Ruins | listen
  • HATE – Bad History | listen
  • HTRK – Psychic 9-5 Club | listen
  • Ian William Craig – A Turn Of Breath | listen
  • Jane Weaver – The Silver Globe | listen
  • Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Songs of Forgiveness | listen
  • Kassem Mosse – Workshop 19 | listen
  • Kyle Bobby Dunn – …And The Infinite Sadness | listen
  • Lawrence English – Wilderness Of Mirrors | listen
  • Legowelt – Crystal Cult 2080 | listen
  • Loscil – Sea Island | listen
  • Lussuria – Industriale Illuminato | listen
  • M. Geddes Gengras – Ishi | listen
  • M.E.S.H. – Scythians EP | listen
  • Millie & Andrea – Drop The Vowels | listen
  • Ñaka Ñaka – Mondo Harsh | listen
  • NGLY – NGLY | listen
  • Pinkcourtesyphone – Description Of Problem | listen
  • Pye Corner Audio / Not Waving – Intercepts | listen
  • Reagenz – The Periodic Table | listen
  • Seekersinternational – Reconsiders The Vampire’s Curse | listen
  • SHXCXCHCXSH – Linear S Decoded | listen
  • Slow Pulse – Slow Pulse | listen
  • Streetwalker – Ooze | listen
  • Veil Of Light – Ξ | listen
  • Void Vision – Sub Rosa | listen

download-1 download-2 download-3 download-4 download-5

About this entry