My Favorite Releases of 2015

It’s been another strong year for new music. While I found myself discovering over 270 new releases, I also dove into the vast world of “wave” (synth, minimal, new, cold), industrial and EBM thanks to my Something Cold friends and their events here in Detroit. I inhaled a lot of fog to listen to lost gems from the 80s. I unearthed a lot of great music I hadn’t heard since the 90s plus enjoyed tons of new stuff I didn’t know was out there.

I’d say my 2015 favorites, however, are a more eclectic mix hitting upon several different types of music. Like last year, I picked 45 of my favorites and here they are below. Happy Holidays!

  • 51717 & Silent Servant – Jealous God 06
  • Abul Mogard – The Sky Had Vanished
  • Acronym – June
  • Arash Moori – Heterodyne
  • Astrobrite – Deluxer
  • Atom TM – Texturen I
  • BOAN – Mentiras
  • Bvdub – Safety In A Number
  • Celldöd – Mekaniskt Gränsland
  • Clay Rendering – Snowthorn
  • D.Å.R.F.D.H.S. – In The Wake Of The Dark Earth
  • Donnacha Costello – Love From Dust
  • Drab Majesty – Careless
  • Drew McDowall – Collapse
  • DVA Damas – Wet Vision
  • Felix K – Tragedy of the Commons
  • Flying Saucer Attack – Instrumentals 2015
  • Född Död – Studie I Närhet, Längtan Och Besvikelse
  • Head Technician – Zones
  • Helen – The Original Faces
  • Helena Hauff – A Tape
  • High Light – High Light
  • Huerco S. – Railroad Blues
  • Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – A Year With 13 Moons
  • Jupiter-C – The Process / Locust
  • Legowelt – Electronic Music From The Faroe Islands 1993
  • Loop – Array 1
  • Marilyn Manson – The Pale Emperor
  • Marital Vows – Trauma
  • Mike Shiflet & High Aura’d – Awake
  • Morelings, The – No Sign
  • November Növelet – The World In Devotion
  • Oake – Auferstehung
  • Patricia – BEM Inventory
  • Prurient – Frozen Niagara Falls
  • Pure Ground – Standard Of Living
  • Rafael Anton Irisarri – A Fragile Geography
  • Scandinavian Star – Scandinavian Star
  • Them Are Us Too – Remain
  • Tropic of Cancer – Stop Suffering
  • Varg – Story Of K
  • Variant – Vortexual [cv313 rewire]
  • Vision Heat – The Chosen Themes – Program I & II
  • Voices From The Lake – Live at MAXXI
  • William Basinski – Cascade

 

best-of-2015-1best-of-2015-2best-of-2015-3best-of-2015-4best-of-2015-5

About this entry