My Favorite Releases of 2016

Sundays in December are for sleeping in and deciding on your favorite picks from the year. So that’s exactly what I did today. I combed through the 206 new releases I listened to this year to whittle things down to a more-manageable thirty-six.

I realize some of these releases aren’t necessarily new music from this year, such as the Nagamatzu (which is just sooo damn good). But in general this list is new music. Maybe next year I’ll include reissues too. There are so many labels unearthing out-of-print gems. But I’ll leave that for another time.

So, here are my top picks, in alphabetical order. Happy Holidays! And goodbye and good riddance to 2016.

 

2017-favorite-releases-12017-favorite-releases-22017-favorite-releases-32017-favorite-releases-4

About this entry